Bible Thumper

It did not sit well. Not at first. The negative connotations of this term were bred in intolerance, is often delivered in intolerance in order to chastise those Christians who are intolerant of other religions. No one really wants be called a Bible thumper in the kingdom of God. Well, as a matter a fact I do. I think I’ve earned this one after many years of being ashamed of the gospel, that life changing, life-giving, mind-bending, joy-filled reality that belongs to those who have TRUSTED in Christ for SALVATION.

I don’t actually want to be called those words again. I would prefer something like woman of God, believer, Christ-seeker, Jesus Freak or even just religious fanatic. The word Bible thumper is distasteful because it implies that one is physically assaulting unbeknownst, innocent, good-people, with every red letter in their arsenal of Scriptural ammunition. Well, that actually sounds more like a Scriptural assassin, but she might as well have called me that. My best friend in college; she is still on that list.

“Don’t get it twisted”, she says to me often. This time she really did. I remember what it was like to be her very well. Full of knowledge, intelligence, success, prestige, perfectly deceived by the enemy who plagued me with ignorance, pride, blinded and hardened my heart.  I was so twisted in my understanding of God; He was an estranged, indifferent, invisible being that was only remotely interested in my well-being, but only if it pleased Him.

The day she called me a Bible thumper, it grieved me. I know why she did it. I used to despise Christians who knew no better way of conversion than to throw you in the pit of hell and spit the word at you to cool you off in there.  What had I done?  I went to our friend’s wedding in Boston and I acted like myself.  All of my college friends are unbelievers. How deep is my hurt for them; I consider them to be my responsibility, people that God has surrounded me with that I might serve them and love them and in so doing, serve and love Him.

I called her that day to give her my thoughts on her boyfriend who is of a different belief system than she. Having had some experience in that area, I wanted to warn her of impending danger and heartache because I love her too much to let her go through the pain I have had. Fools learn from their mistakes and the wise learn from the mistakes of others. What I got was, “[Rebeca, I know where you stand and I can understand why you acted the way you acted, you’re from the south, (obviously, the south only contains ignorant, intolerant Christians, a northeastern myth) and that is expected].” What she got twisted is that Christ has so changed me and healed me that I cannot contain His word in my heart. If it’s floating around on the surface of my brain, I am going to say it.

Christianity is a worldview, hence, the way I see life, the entire world and everything in it is informed by my Christian beliefs. I will not apologize for that and I did not. I did apologize for anything that I SAID or DID that offended her. When I asked about the particulars of my offense, she could not say. The status quo of the Northeast, one that I clearly broke,  is to keep controversial views to self. Having lived there for four years I am fully aware of the rules as I dabbled in at least 5 other religions. Hatred or animosity for other religions I do NOT have. I have pain and compassion for people who are missing out on the One who loves them so dearly.

She asked me a bigger question still, the one that people in the northeast are not supposed to ask each other (I welcome this broken rule and you should too, Saints of the Lord); do you think there is a right religion, is there only one way to heaven, is there a heaven.  If Christianity is only a religion in the most encyclopedic sense, then yes. Yes, Jesus Christ is the way the truth and life and no one comes to the Father except through Him (John 14:16). Yes, but did you know the new heaven where all the believers will be is actually here on earth? Heaven is for real, hell is too and by the way, many other religions also concede of the existence of these places.

Saints of the Lord, be careful and mindful of how you witness. I know I will be.  Don’t browbeat people with the word of God. Let His Spirit do the work. You actually do almost nothing in the whole process. Your words should be His words, delivered in His love. Moreover, he did ask us to preach and teach, but more than anything Christ responded to needs with actions of love. Be passionate for the salvation of your family members, friends, strangers etc., by serving them, loving them and persisting in prayer for them.  Yet, I remind you of your duty to speak the TRUTH, modeling Paul in his attitude of love for the gospel: Be completely unashamed.

Just in case you missed the point:  For I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes: first to the Jew, then to the Gentile. For in the gospel the righteousness of God is revealed—a righteousness that is by faith from first to last, just as it is written: “The righteous will live by faith.” (Romans 1:16-17).

Leave a comment